Up: Teacher Residency Program Information

Interstate New Teacher Assessment
and Support Consortium (INTASC)

Model Standards for Beginning Teacher Licensing and Development

Standard One: Subject Matter
The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and can create learning experiences that make these aspects of subject matter meaningful for students.

Standard Two: Student Learning
The teacher understands how children and youth learn and develop and can provide learning opportunities that support their intellectual, social and personal development.

Standard Three: Diverse Learners
The teacher understands how learners differ in their approaches to learning and creates instructional opportunities that are adapted to learners from diverse cultural backgrounds and with exceptionalities.

Standard Four: Instructional Strategies
The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage the students' development of critical thinking, problem solving, and performance skills.

Standard Five: Learning Environment
The teacher uses an understanding of individual and group motivation and behavior to create a learning environment that encourages positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.

Standard Six: Communication
The teacher uses knowledge of effective verbal, non-verbal and media communication techniques to foster active inquiry, collaboration, and supportive interaction in the classroom.

Standard Seven: Planning Instruction
The teacher plans and manages instruction based upon knowledge of subject matter, students, the community, and curriculum goals.

Standard Eight: Assessment
The teacher understands and uses formal and informal assessment strategies to evaluate and ensure the continuous intellectual, social, and physical development of his/her learners.

Standard Nine: Reflection and Professional Development
The teacher is a reflective practitioner who continually evaluates the effects of her/his choices and actions on others (students, parents, and other professionals in the learning community) and who actively seeks out opportunities to grow professionally.

Standard Ten: Collaboration, Ethics, and Relationships
A teacher communicates and interacts with parents/guardians, families, school colleagues, and the community to support the students' learning and well being.

Up: Teacher Residency Program Information

Comments to: cutler@geom.umn.edu
Created: Tuesday, 28-Jan-97 16:30:20 --- Last modified:
Copyright © 1997 by MnSCU/UofM Distance Learning Initiative. All rights reserved.